Adirondack Forum

Adirondack Forum (http://www.adkforum.com/index.php)
-   Gear, Food, and Survival Topics (http://www.adkforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   List of Online Gear Shops (http://www.adkforum.com/showthread.php?t=10532)

adktyler 12-09-2008 03:55 PM

List of Online Gear Shops
 
Ok, I’ll admit it, I’m a bit of a gear nut. If I have any leftover spending money after bills and such, it usually goes towards gear. I have a fairly extensive list of online retailers that I use to purchase new equipment, always looking for the best deal. I thought maybe a list of the ones I know of would be of some benefit to people on here. These are all online retailers, but many of them also have factory outlets stationed around the US (and world, in some cases).
I did an extensive search on here to make sure there was no thread like this already, and I found nothing; so I really hope I’m not being redundant. I hope this helps you!

One last thing, do you have any to add to this list? Or any positive/negative experiences to report?

Online Gear Retailers

Acme Climbing: http://www.acmeclimbing.com/
Alpenglow: http://www.alpenglowgear.com/gear/
The Alpineer: http://www.alpineer.com/
Alps Mountaineering: http://www.alpsmountaineering.com/
Altrec: http://www.altrec.com/
Antigravity Gear: http://www.antigravitygear.com/
Appalachian Outdoors: http://www.appoutdoors.com/
ARequip: http://arequip.com/
Backcountry: http://www.backcountry.com/
Backcountry Gear: http://www.backcountrygear.com/index.cfm
Backpacking Deals: http://backpackingdeals.com/
Basegear: http://www.basegear.com/
Bent Gate: http://www.bentgate.com/
Boulder Mountaineering: http://www.bouldermountaineering.com/
Bradley Alpinist: http://www.bradleyalpinist.com/
C&C Outdoors: http://www.ccoutdoorstore.com/
Cabela’s: http://www.cabelas.com/home.jsp;jses...questid=121092
Campbound: http://www.campbound.com/
Camping Comfortably: http://www.campingcomfortably.com/
Campmor: http://www.campmor.com/outdoor/gear/Home_
CampSaver: http://www.campsaver.com/
Climb High Outlet: http://www.climbhighoutlet.com/
Climbing Gear: http://www.climbinggear.com/
Climb Max Mountaineering: http://www.climbmaxmountaineering.com/
Craigslist: http://www.craigslist.org/about/sites
Crystal Falls Trading Company: http://www.crystalfallstradingcompany.com/index.php
Dick’s Sporting Goods: http://www.dickssportinggoods.com/home/index.jsp
Eagle Camping Equipment: http://eaglecampingequipment.com/index.html
E-Bay: http://www.ebay.com/
E-MOC (Oregon Mountain Community): http://www.e-omc.com/catalog/
EMS (Eastern Mountain Sports): http://www.ems.com/
Everest Gear: http://www.everestgear.com/
EVO Gear: http://www.evogear.com/default.aspx
Explore 64: http://www.explore64.com/
Gander Mountain: http://www.gandermountain.com/
Gear Express: http://www.gearexpress.com/
Gear Trade: http://www.geartrade.com/?bzSession=...6bb181b911f7a3
Gear Zone (UK): http://www.gear-zone.co.uk/
GearX: http://www.gearx.com/
Go Outdoors (UK): http://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/
Great Outdoors Depot: http://www.greatoutdoorsdepot.com/
GR8 Gear: http://www.gr8gear.com/catalog/index.php
Hermit’s Hut: http://www.hermitshut.com/
High Country Outfitters: http://www.highcountryoutfitters.com/highcountry/
Hike Light: http://www.hikelight.com/
Hilton’s Tent City: http://www.hiltonstentcity.com/
Hudson Trail Outfitters: http://www.hudsontrail.com/
Joe’s Sports: http://www.joessports.com/home/index...d=hdr_logo_img
Kittery Trading Post: http://www.ktp.com/
L.L. Bean: http://www.llbean.com/
Marmot Mountain Works: http://www.marmotmountain.com/
Massey’s Professional Outfitters: http://www.masseysoutfitters.com/shop/default.asp
Moontrail: http://www.moontrail.com/home.php
Moosejaw: http://www.moosejaw.com/moosejaw/shop/home___
Mountain Equipment Co-Op: http://www.mec.ca/Main/home.jsp;jses...=1228852506245
Mountain Gear: http://www.mountaingear.com/
Mountain Magic Equipment: http://www.mountainmagic.com/
Mountain Tools: http://www.mtntools.com/
Mountain Warehouse: http://www.mountainwarehouse.com/
Neptune Mountaineering: http://www.neptunemountaineering.com...ult.asp?s_id=0
Northern Lights Trading Company: http://www.northernlightstrading.com/
Northern Mountain Supply: http://www.northernmountain.com/
NRS (Northwest River Supplies): http://www.nrsweb.com/
O2 Gear Shop: http://www.o2gearshop.com/catalog/index.php?
Outdoor Gear (UK): http://www.outdoorgear.co.uk/
Outdoor Outlet: http://www.outdooroutlet.com/index.p...6a36949f628388
Paragon Sports: http://www.paragonsports.com/webapp/...0051&langId=-1
ProLite Gear: http://www.prolitegear.com/
Ragged Mountain Gear: http://www.raggedmountain.com/
REI (Recreational Equipment Incorporated): http://www.rei.com/
River Sports Outfitters: http://www.riversportsoutfitters.com/
Rock Climbing Tools: http://www.rockclimbingtools.com/
Rock Creek Outfitters: http://www.rockcreek.com/
Scout Gear: http://www.scoutgear.com/
Sierra Trading Post: http://www.sierratradingpost.com/
Sonoma Outfitters: http://www.sonomaoutfitters.com/
Spadeout: http://www.spadout.com/
Sport Chalet: http://www.sportchalet.com/
Steep And Cheap: http://www.steepandcheap.com/
Summit Hut: http://www.summithut.com/
The Mountaineer: http://www.mountaineer.com/
Tradition Creek Outfitters: http://www.traditioncreek.com/storefront/
Travel Country: http://www.travelcountry.com/
The Triathlete Store: http://www.thetriathletestore.com/
Upside Over: http://www.upsideover.com/
US Outdoor Store: http://www.usoutdoorstore.com/
Whittaker Mountaineering: http://www.whittakermountaineering.com/
Wilderness Exchange: http://www.wildernessexchangeunlimited.com/index.cfm
Wilderness Outlet: http://www.wildernessoutlet.com/shop/default.asp

Foreign Language Sites:

www.mec.ca
www.lacordee.com
www.sailbaron.com
www.atmospherepleinair.ca
www.leyeti.ca


Oh, and did I mention your local consignment store? Try Salvation Army and Goodwill for some amazing deals (though it's often hit or miss). Finally, don't forget to try Craigslist as well.

Anita 12-09-2008 04:10 PM

Mountain Tools: www.mtntools.com

lumberzac 12-09-2008 04:26 PM

Northern Mountain Supply http://www.northernmountain.com/

adktyler 12-09-2008 05:09 PM

Thanks, I added those, a few more, and alphabetized it for your convenience.

WinterWarlock 12-09-2008 07:16 PM

Nice job Tyler -

Steep and Cheap have a new skiing version called TramDock, too.

This oughta be a sticky!

adktyler 12-09-2008 07:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WinterWarlock (Post 114285)
Nice job Tyler -

Steep and Cheap have a new skiing version called TramDock, too.

This oughta be a sticky!

Thanks! I will check out the TramDock site, sounds good.

Do I have the authority to make a sticky? I thought only Administrators and Moderators could do that. I would imagine that it would be dangerous for regular members to have that power.

WinterWarlock 12-09-2008 07:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ADK88 (Post 114286)
Thanks! I will check out the TramDock site, sounds good.

Do I have the authority to make a sticky? I thought only Administrators and Moderators could do that. I would imagine that it would be dangerous for regular members to have that power.

Yep - a Mod has to do that....maybe they'll see this and agree.

Beeblesticks 12-10-2008 02:52 PM

www.upsideover.com

adktyler 12-12-2008 09:04 PM

25% off sale @ Moosejaw
 
Just so you all know, Moosejaw is having a 25% off sale for the next 3 days. There's still time for Christmas shopping (both for friends AND for you).

http://www.moosejaw.com/moosejaw/sho...08_10000001_-1

Stephan26 01-11-2009 06:12 PM

Just a quick addition to the list...for us Canadian folks or any other visiting Canada! :)

www.mec.ca
www.lacordee.com
www.sailbaron.com
www.atmospherepleinair.ca
www.leyeti.ca

I am looking for some snowshoe...hence the list of my "local" stores... :)

yellowcanoe 11-11-2009 01:00 PM

Add one of my favorite places and a must see in North Conway New Hampshire. International Mountaineering Equipment.

http://www.ime-usa.com/ime/index.html

Faline 08-23-2010 03:36 PM

Does anyone know the name of the outdoor store in Keene?

hikercop45 08-23-2010 05:30 PM

the mountaineer

crkmeup 03-06-2011 12:56 PM

Alps Mountaineering offers scouts (boys, girls, & leaders) major discounts on equipment. If you are in scouting check out www.scoutdirect.com. Discounts vary but typically are 50%-70% off of retail.

DSettahr 03-06-2011 01:38 PM

Alps Mountaineering does make some good stuff on the low end of the performance spectrum, but it's not exactly high quality. I've used their sleeping bags in the past, and I'll put it this way: their bags will certainly keep you warm, but they might not fit in your pack.

Crokit 03-06-2011 03:27 PM

IMHO, no list is complete without the Sportsman Guide.com :thumbs:

crkmeup 03-06-2011 10:41 PM

Alps makes a nice 3 season 2 scout tent that is 4 lbs and has come through amazing rain storms for $65 on sale to scouts. I agree their synthetic bags are car camping big, but they also have down bags that scouts can pick up for $85. My son uses their 4500 cui Denali pack. We paid under $60 for it new and it has lasted well and is lighter than many packs (under 3 lbs). I guess what I am saying is some of their stuff may help a scout get out without breaking their parents. What is low end to you may work well for others.

DSettahr 03-07-2011 07:53 AM

I don't know, when a companies biggest and best claim about their gear is that it "is made in the same factory in China where REI has all of their gear made," you have to wonder about the quality. ;) (This was an actual quote on their website about 4 years ago when I was purchasing a bulk order from them from the PSC Outing Club.)

EHiker 04-18-2011 01:28 PM

If you're into Ultralight, check out:

www.equinoxltd.com

www.gossamergear.com

redfox1939 08-01-2012 12:05 AM

Too many people rely on inadequate or poor quality hiking equipment. This does not just risk an uncomfortable hike but also endangers their health and survival. OOPS we said SURVIVAL. The biggest complaint mountain rescue teams have is that people go out on the hills and mountains without the basic equipment needed for survival.The personal stove would be on the top of my wish list. Lots of good suggestions here. I love being organized like that. And stuff sacks are definitely the answer.

____________________

Sedona Guided Tours


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.