Adirondack Forum  
Rules Membership Donations and Online Store Adkhighpeaks Foundation ADKhighpeaks Forums ADKhighpeaks Wiki Disclaimer

Go Back   Adirondack Forum > Outdoors Related Discussion > Gear, Food, and Survival Topics
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2008, 03:55 PM   #1
adktyler
previously adk88
 
adktyler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Saranac Lake, NY
Posts: 1,133
Lightbulb List of Online Gear Shops

Ok, I’ll admit it, I’m a bit of a gear nut. If I have any leftover spending money after bills and such, it usually goes towards gear. I have a fairly extensive list of online retailers that I use to purchase new equipment, always looking for the best deal. I thought maybe a list of the ones I know of would be of some benefit to people on here. These are all online retailers, but many of them also have factory outlets stationed around the US (and world, in some cases).
I did an extensive search on here to make sure there was no thread like this already, and I found nothing; so I really hope I’m not being redundant. I hope this helps you!

One last thing, do you have any to add to this list? Or any positive/negative experiences to report?

Online Gear Retailers

Acme Climbing: http://www.acmeclimbing.com/
Alpenglow: http://www.alpenglowgear.com/gear/
The Alpineer: http://www.alpineer.com/
Alps Mountaineering: http://www.alpsmountaineering.com/
Altrec: http://www.altrec.com/
Antigravity Gear: http://www.antigravitygear.com/
Appalachian Outdoors: http://www.appoutdoors.com/
ARequip: http://arequip.com/
Backcountry: http://www.backcountry.com/
Backcountry Gear: http://www.backcountrygear.com/index.cfm
Backpacking Deals: http://backpackingdeals.com/
Basegear: http://www.basegear.com/
Bent Gate: http://www.bentgate.com/
Boulder Mountaineering: http://www.bouldermountaineering.com/
Bradley Alpinist: http://www.bradleyalpinist.com/
C&C Outdoors: http://www.ccoutdoorstore.com/
Cabela’s: http://www.cabelas.com/home.jsp;jses...questid=121092
Campbound: http://www.campbound.com/
Camping Comfortably: http://www.campingcomfortably.com/
Campmor: http://www.campmor.com/outdoor/gear/Home_
CampSaver: http://www.campsaver.com/
Climb High Outlet: http://www.climbhighoutlet.com/
Climbing Gear: http://www.climbinggear.com/
Climb Max Mountaineering: http://www.climbmaxmountaineering.com/
Craigslist: http://www.craigslist.org/about/sites
Crystal Falls Trading Company: http://www.crystalfallstradingcompany.com/index.php
Dick’s Sporting Goods: http://www.dickssportinggoods.com/home/index.jsp
Eagle Camping Equipment: http://eaglecampingequipment.com/index.html
E-Bay: http://www.ebay.com/
E-MOC (Oregon Mountain Community): http://www.e-omc.com/catalog/
EMS (Eastern Mountain Sports): http://www.ems.com/
Everest Gear: http://www.everestgear.com/
EVO Gear: http://www.evogear.com/default.aspx
Explore 64: http://www.explore64.com/
Gander Mountain: http://www.gandermountain.com/
Gear Express: http://www.gearexpress.com/
Gear Trade: http://www.geartrade.com/?bzSession=...6bb181b911f7a3
Gear Zone (UK): http://www.gear-zone.co.uk/
GearX: http://www.gearx.com/
Go Outdoors (UK): http://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/
Great Outdoors Depot: http://www.greatoutdoorsdepot.com/
GR8 Gear: http://www.gr8gear.com/catalog/index.php
Hermit’s Hut: http://www.hermitshut.com/
High Country Outfitters: http://www.highcountryoutfitters.com/highcountry/
Hike Light: http://www.hikelight.com/
Hilton’s Tent City: http://www.hiltonstentcity.com/
Hudson Trail Outfitters: http://www.hudsontrail.com/
Joe’s Sports: http://www.joessports.com/home/index...d=hdr_logo_img
Kittery Trading Post: http://www.ktp.com/
L.L. Bean: http://www.llbean.com/
Marmot Mountain Works: http://www.marmotmountain.com/
Massey’s Professional Outfitters: http://www.masseysoutfitters.com/shop/default.asp
Moontrail: http://www.moontrail.com/home.php
Moosejaw: http://www.moosejaw.com/moosejaw/shop/home___
Mountain Equipment Co-Op: http://www.mec.ca/Main/home.jsp;jses...=1228852506245
Mountain Gear: http://www.mountaingear.com/
Mountain Magic Equipment: http://www.mountainmagic.com/
Mountain Tools: http://www.mtntools.com/
Mountain Warehouse: http://www.mountainwarehouse.com/
Neptune Mountaineering: http://www.neptunemountaineering.com...ult.asp?s_id=0
Northern Lights Trading Company: http://www.northernlightstrading.com/
Northern Mountain Supply: http://www.northernmountain.com/
NRS (Northwest River Supplies): http://www.nrsweb.com/
O2 Gear Shop: http://www.o2gearshop.com/catalog/index.php?
Outdoor Gear (UK): http://www.outdoorgear.co.uk/
Outdoor Outlet: http://www.outdooroutlet.com/index.p...6a36949f628388
Paragon Sports: http://www.paragonsports.com/webapp/...0051&langId=-1
ProLite Gear: http://www.prolitegear.com/
Ragged Mountain Gear: http://www.raggedmountain.com/
REI (Recreational Equipment Incorporated): http://www.rei.com/
River Sports Outfitters: http://www.riversportsoutfitters.com/
Rock Climbing Tools: http://www.rockclimbingtools.com/
Rock Creek Outfitters: http://www.rockcreek.com/
Scout Gear: http://www.scoutgear.com/
Sierra Trading Post: http://www.sierratradingpost.com/
Sonoma Outfitters: http://www.sonomaoutfitters.com/
Spadeout: http://www.spadout.com/
Sport Chalet: http://www.sportchalet.com/
Steep And Cheap: http://www.steepandcheap.com/
Summit Hut: http://www.summithut.com/
The Mountaineer: http://www.mountaineer.com/
Tradition Creek Outfitters: http://www.traditioncreek.com/storefront/
Travel Country: http://www.travelcountry.com/
The Triathlete Store: http://www.thetriathletestore.com/
Upside Over: http://www.upsideover.com/
US Outdoor Store: http://www.usoutdoorstore.com/
Whittaker Mountaineering: http://www.whittakermountaineering.com/
Wilderness Exchange: http://www.wildernessexchangeunlimited.com/index.cfm
Wilderness Outlet: http://www.wildernessoutlet.com/shop/default.asp

Foreign Language Sites:

www.mec.ca
www.lacordee.com
www.sailbaron.com
www.atmospherepleinair.ca
www.leyeti.ca


Oh, and did I mention your local consignment store? Try Salvation Army and Goodwill for some amazing deals (though it's often hit or miss). Finally, don't forget to try Craigslist as well.
__________________
Videos --- Camp Loonsong --- Mountains Climbed

Last edited by adktyler; 08-03-2012 at 09:14 PM..
adktyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 04:10 PM   #2
Anita
Member
 
Anita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 118
Mountain Tools: www.mtntools.com
Anita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 04:26 PM   #3
lumberzac
Beware of the Lumberzac
 
lumberzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: country of the lakes and the crooked stream
Posts: 1,729
Northern Mountain Supply http://www.northernmountain.com/
__________________
A man needs to believe in something. I believe I'll go hiking.

http://community.webshots.com/user/lumberzac
lumberzac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 05:09 PM   #4
adktyler
previously adk88
 
adktyler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Saranac Lake, NY
Posts: 1,133
Thanks, I added those, a few more, and alphabetized it for your convenience.
__________________
Videos --- Camp Loonsong --- Mountains Climbed
adktyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 07:16 PM   #5
WinterWarlock
One foot in front of the other
 
WinterWarlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,190
Nice job Tyler -

Steep and Cheap have a new skiing version called TramDock, too.

This oughta be a sticky!
__________________
ADK High Peaks Wiki

Enjoy Every Sandwich!
WinterWarlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 07:34 PM   #6
adktyler
previously adk88
 
adktyler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Saranac Lake, NY
Posts: 1,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by WinterWarlock View Post
Nice job Tyler -

Steep and Cheap have a new skiing version called TramDock, too.

This oughta be a sticky!
Thanks! I will check out the TramDock site, sounds good.

Do I have the authority to make a sticky? I thought only Administrators and Moderators could do that. I would imagine that it would be dangerous for regular members to have that power.
__________________
Videos --- Camp Loonsong --- Mountains Climbed
adktyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 07:47 PM   #7
WinterWarlock
One foot in front of the other
 
WinterWarlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADK88 View Post
Thanks! I will check out the TramDock site, sounds good.

Do I have the authority to make a sticky? I thought only Administrators and Moderators could do that. I would imagine that it would be dangerous for regular members to have that power.
Yep - a Mod has to do that....maybe they'll see this and agree.
__________________
ADK High Peaks Wiki

Enjoy Every Sandwich!
WinterWarlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 02:52 PM   #8
Beeblesticks
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 163
www.upsideover.com
Beeblesticks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 09:04 PM   #9
adktyler
previously adk88
 
adktyler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Saranac Lake, NY
Posts: 1,133
25% off sale @ Moosejaw

Just so you all know, Moosejaw is having a 25% off sale for the next 3 days. There's still time for Christmas shopping (both for friends AND for you).

http://www.moosejaw.com/moosejaw/sho...08_10000001_-1
__________________
Videos --- Camp Loonsong --- Mountains Climbed
adktyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 06:12 PM   #10
Stephan26
The guy from up North
 
Stephan26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St-Jean-Baptiste, Canada
Posts: 71
Just a quick addition to the list...for us Canadian folks or any other visiting Canada!

www.mec.ca
www.lacordee.com
www.sailbaron.com
www.atmospherepleinair.ca
www.leyeti.ca

I am looking for some snowshoe...hence the list of my "local" stores...
__________________
...And all that could have been.
Stephan26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 01:00 PM   #11
yellowcanoe
Member
 
yellowcanoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,174
Add one of my favorite places and a must see in North Conway New Hampshire. International Mountaineering Equipment.

http://www.ime-usa.com/ime/index.html
yellowcanoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 03:36 PM   #12
Faline
reMember
 
Faline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 22
Does anyone know the name of the outdoor store in Keene?
Faline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 05:30 PM   #13
hikercop45
fat old hiker of the woods
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vernon NY
Posts: 147
the mountaineer
hikercop45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 12:56 PM   #14
crkmeup
Member
 
crkmeup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: WNY
Posts: 98
Alps Mountaineering offers scouts (boys, girls, & leaders) major discounts on equipment. If you are in scouting check out www.scoutdirect.com. Discounts vary but typically are 50%-70% off of retail.
crkmeup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 01:38 PM   #15
DSettahr
ɹǝqɯǝɯ
 
DSettahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,318
Alps Mountaineering does make some good stuff on the low end of the performance spectrum, but it's not exactly high quality. I've used their sleeping bags in the past, and I'll put it this way: their bags will certainly keep you warm, but they might not fit in your pack.
DSettahr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 03:27 PM   #16
Crokit
crokit
 
Crokit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 362
IMHO, no list is complete without the Sportsman Guide.com
__________________
Give me the mountains, or give me death.
Crokit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 10:41 PM   #17
crkmeup
Member
 
crkmeup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: WNY
Posts: 98
Alps makes a nice 3 season 2 scout tent that is 4 lbs and has come through amazing rain storms for $65 on sale to scouts. I agree their synthetic bags are car camping big, but they also have down bags that scouts can pick up for $85. My son uses their 4500 cui Denali pack. We paid under $60 for it new and it has lasted well and is lighter than many packs (under 3 lbs). I guess what I am saying is some of their stuff may help a scout get out without breaking their parents. What is low end to you may work well for others.
crkmeup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 07:53 AM   #18
DSettahr
ɹǝqɯǝɯ
 
DSettahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,318
I don't know, when a companies biggest and best claim about their gear is that it "is made in the same factory in China where REI has all of their gear made," you have to wonder about the quality. (This was an actual quote on their website about 4 years ago when I was purchasing a bulk order from them from the PSC Outing Club.)
DSettahr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 01:28 PM   #19
EHiker
Member
 
EHiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Buffalo/Watertown
Posts: 30
If you're into Ultralight, check out:

www.equinoxltd.com

www.gossamergear.com
EHiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 12:05 AM   #20
redfox1939
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Too many people rely on inadequate or poor quality hiking equipment. This does not just risk an uncomfortable hike but also endangers their health and survival. OOPS we said SURVIVAL. The biggest complaint mountain rescue teams have is that people go out on the hills and mountains without the basic equipment needed for survival.The personal stove would be on the top of my wish list. Lots of good suggestions here. I love being organized like that. And stuff sacks are definitely the answer.

____________________

Sedona Guided Tours
redfox1939 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

DISCLAIMER: Use of these forums, and information found herein, is at your own risk. Use of this site by members and non-members alike is only granted by the adkhighpeak.com administration provided the terms and conditions found in the FULL DISCLAIMER have been read. Continued use of this site implies that you have read, understood and agree to the terms and conditions of this site. Any questions can be directed to the Administrator of this site.