Adirondack Forum  
Rules Membership Donations and Online Store Adkhighpeaks Foundation ADKhighpeaks Forums ADKhighpeaks Wiki Disclaimer

Go Back   Adirondack Forum > The Adirondack Forum > Paddling in the Adirondacks
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-24-2019, 05:07 PM   #1
Tomcat

Paddling Tupper Lake and its ponds

I'm new to the daks and now live in Tupper Lake. Since I live 5 minutes by foot to Raquette Pond, I have explored Tupper, Raquette Pond, and Simon Pond numerous times. For anyone interested, I have observation and my take on the lakes on my website. There's also quite a few photos. I know there are plenty of better waters but since they are out my front door, I've explored these the most my first few months here. http://www.tomcatsadventures.com/201...pper-lake.html
Tomcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 08:28 PM   #2
Justin
Moving along

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomcat View Post
I'm new to the daks and now live in Tupper Lake...
Tomcat,
Congratulations, cool photos & blog, and welcome to the Adirondacks.
Just a heads up that the abbreviated term “Daks” makes a lot of people cringe, especially local residents & frequent visitors. You may want to use ”Adks” as an abbreviation instead, kind of like the name of this website. Could you imagine if it was called the ”Daks Forum”?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 10:54 PM   #3
MaximusFunk24

yeah, you will definitely be giving yourself away as a recent transplant. I have never heard a local use the term "Daks"

I see you like XC skiing. Tupper Lake has an awesome network of free groomed XC trails that start at the golf course, along with tons of backcountry trails nearby when winter gets here.
MaximusFunk24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2019, 08:33 AM   #4
Lucky13