Adirondack Forum  
Rules Membership Donations and Online Store Adkhighpeaks Foundation ADKhighpeaks Forums ADKhighpeaks Wiki Disclaimer

Go Back   Adirondack Forum > The Adirondack Forum > General Adirondack Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-31-2005, 05:04 PM   #1
MattC

1st Post

Hey Y'all. I'm an ADK newbie, more or less. I did climb Algonquin and Giant many, many moons ago as a child, and over the years have climbed smaller peaks like Crane and Blue. Anyhow, I finally started hiking frequently last summer in the Catskills (about an hour from home), and I just finished the 3500 Club requirements. I've also been using Views From the Top extensively these past months, which is where I found out about this site. I've lurked a few times, and decided to join, since I plan to hike in the ADKs as much as possible in the near future. I live in the Hudson Valley, but I can also stay w/ friends and family in Albany and drive up from there.

I'm thinking about making my 1st ADK excursion soon, maybe mid or late April. I'm well aware of the mud conditions after the snow melts, and would like to avoid contributing to trail erosion as much as possible. I'm considering Giant/RPR or perhaps Dial/Nippletop on 4/15 and/or 4/16. Somebody over at VFTT (where my handle is mcorsar, by the way) made me aware that this is the weekend of the 4000'er awards in NH, so I realize a lot of people will be at that.

Matt
MattC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 05:27 PM   #2
Kevin
**BANNED**

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattC