Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quiet, private camping sites?

Hi.

I've been heading to the ADK LOJ campground for a couple of years now. Love the place, quiet and somewhat private sites, great spot to start your hikes, lake for swimming and canoeing and plenty of vegetation. I hate campsites where there are no trees, vegetation between sites...

Can you recommend other campsites that are similar or that you may even find better? Maybe post some pictures to give me an idea? I've heard about Forked Lake?

Thanks.
    ...And all that could have been.

Are you looking for actual campgrounds with a bunch of campsite? Or just regular campsites, like any campsite?
    Videos --- Camp Loonsong --- Mountains Climbed

Comment

I've never stayed at the Loj, but whenever I pass through there, it seems to me to be busier than nearly any state campground. Some of the state campgrounds are better than others, typically those with less amenities are quiter than those with full facilities.
      I have stayed at Forked Lake many times, all the sites are primitive, and most are water access, a few you can hike to, and some are water access only. There is a size limit on boat motors, but I can't remember what the number is. It is usually very quiet there, and some pleasant views looking west. There is also a handfull of informal sites at the other end of the lake, near Brandreth Lake Outlet. It's even quiter there...

Comment