Adirondack Forum  
Rules Membership Donations and Online Store Adkhighpeaks Foundation ADKhighpeaks Forums ADKhighpeaks Wiki Disclaimer

Go Back   Adirondack Forum > The Adirondack Forum > Hiking in the Adirondacks > Northville Placid Trail
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-05-2009, 03:25 PM   #1
46erJim

Question 2009 NPT hike

I am planning on hiking the length of the NPT this year. It will not be a fast hike. As a photographer I do not share the opinion expressed in the 3 day hike thread that "if you've seen one maple tree, you've seen them all". I would like to form an acquaintance with some of the more interesting ones along the way.

I haven't ruled out a thru, but my hike will probably be in 2 sections, Northville to Rt. 28, then Rt. 28 to LP, probably in August. There will be lots of photography time and I'm 64 so I don't hike at warp speed anyway (never did). I'm thinking 5 days per section, perhaps only 4, possibly 6. Hey, I'm retired, what's the hurry?

Object? A book I've been thinking about for several years. For that I'd also like to learn the local history of the areas the NPT passes through. If anyone can recommend resources of that type, names of books, etc,. and where I can find them, I'd appreciate it.
Old 04-05-2009, 03:39 PM   #2
fvrwld

French Louie is a good book for the West Canada Region.

Also..the Adirondack Museum has a library/archive. I bet you'll find a lot there.
http://www.adkmuseum.org/discover_an..._and_research/
Old 04-05-2009, 05:42 PM   #3
Dick
somewhere out there...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 46erJim View Post
I am planning on hiking the length of the NPT this year. It will not be a fast hike. As a photographer I do not share the opinion expressed in the 3 day hike thread that "if you've seen one maple tree, you've seen them all". I would like to form an acquaintance with some of the more interesting ones along the way.