Adirondack Forum  
Rules Membership Donations and Online Store Adkhighpeaks Foundation ADKhighpeaks Forums ADKhighpeaks Wiki Disclaimer

Go Back   Adirondack Forum > The Adirondack Forum > Hiking in the Adirondacks
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-03-2017, 09:58 AM   #1
adirondackcamper
Pine Barren

Hiking with a dog

Hi everyone! It's been awhile since I've posted. I just wanted to ask for any tips or advice for getting started with hiking with a dog. I have quite a bit of experience hiking ( both solo and with others) but I'm brand new to hiking with a dog. I just adopted a 3 year old Siberian Husky ( I'll try to post pics) Her name is Keeva. I do have lots of experience with dogs. Just never hiked with one before. And yes before anyone says it, my plan is to take her on a bunch of short hikes just through the woods in my area before I take her into the mountains. I'm just looking for tips and advice for when I feel she's ready for overnight adventures in the mountains further from home. Thanks everyone

Steve
adirondackcamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 03:00 PM   #2
Justin

Hi Steve, congrats on your new companion!