Adirondack Forum  
Rules Membership Donations and Online Store Adkhighpeaks Foundation ADKhighpeaks Forums ADKhighpeaks Wiki Disclaimer

Go Back   Adirondack Forum > The Adirondack Forum > Trip Reports
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-20-2010, 10:15 PM   #1
Cyar88
Trapped in New Jersey

Trap Dike and Partial MacIntyre Range 7/16-7/18 Part I

*This is a copy of my post on the ADKHP forum, I didn't want to leave people out who may visit one forum and not necessarily the other*

I want to start of by saying this is my first TR on this forum and am glad I finally became a member. I have been venturing into the ADK high peaks for a few years now since I started going to Clarkson in 2007, this is just the first one I felt like writing up.

This TR is the first of two from this past weekend, the second half will follow tomorrow. Myself, KurtVon and a few others who go/went to Clarkson decided to have a summer reunion and tackle some ADK wilderness while we were at it. Our trip goal for the two days originally was Mt. Colden via the Trap Dike, MacIntyre Range, Phelps and Tabletop.

We all gathered miraculously at the Loj at the same time on Friday night around 9:45 pm. We loaded ourselves up and headed out the Van Hov trail around 10:10 in complete darkness. We made a good pace despite full packs, mud from the dayís rain, and minimal light from headlamps. We arrived at Marcy Dam around 11:10 with the intent of finding a lean-to . We reached a campsite a little ways beyond the first lean-to after much stumbling around and a close call with falling into the lake. We tried to continue on to find the others but ended up on the wrong trail so we returned to the campsite and sent Kurt and Dennis out to search for the others only to find out they were all taken. We all set up camp at the campsite and unfortunately Kurt and Dennis had to improvise a tent because Kurt forgot to pack his tent. We all settled in around 12:45.