Adirondack Forum  
Rules Membership Donations and Online Store Adkhighpeaks Foundation ADKhighpeaks Forums ADKhighpeaks Wiki Disclaimer

Go Back   Adirondack Forum > The Adirondack Forum > Adirondack History and Folklore
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-06-2008, 08:00 PM   #1
aaronlawson

History of Native People of New York (especially ADK Region)??

Hi,
I'm a linguist (PhD) by trade and I've mostly studied the history of European and African languages. I'm lately also very interested in American languages and have been reading some technical papers on the Iroquoian family (Iroquois nation languages, Cherokee, Wendat (aka Huron), and others) which is really fascinating. Part of my ancestry is Algonquin from Eastern Canada, but no one in my family even knows which Algonquin group is was -possibly several, so I'm really interested in the contact between the Five (later Six) Nations, the Huron (Wendat, Wyandotte, many spellings) and the Algonquin family groups in the ADK area.

I was wondering if there are any good resources that people could point me to that go into detail about the peoples of this region, especially history and languages. Thanks,

-Aaron

Last edited by aaronlawson; 03-06-2008 at 08:01 PM.. Reason: typos
aaronlawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 10:12 PM   #2
redhawk
Senior Resident Curmudgeon

Contact Tom Porter Here: http://www.mohawkcommunity.com/
"If future generations are to remember us with gratitude rather than contempt, we must leave them more than the miracles of technology. We must leave them a glimpse of the world as it was in the beginning, not just after we got through with it." Lyndon B. Johnson
redhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 10:18 PM   #3
Hobbitling
spring fever