Adirondack Forum  
Rules Membership Donations and Online Store Adkhighpeaks Foundation ADKhighpeaks Forums ADKhighpeaks Wiki Disclaimer

Go Back   Adirondack Forum > The Adirondack Forum > Hiking in the Adirondacks
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-02-2011, 07:56 AM   #1
cuonxc

Question Hiking with Dog

Hi, I am new to all this, but am interested in hiking with my dog. It was suggested that I start with Mt Arab so I know how much water she drinks. I was thinking about doing that next week and trying to combine it with a trip up Mt Ampersand in the same day. Is Mt Ampersand okay for a pretty athletic australian shepherd? I've heard about narrow/steep rocky passages...

I would like to do Porter and Cascade this fall, so Arab and Ampersand are kind of in preparation for that.

Any information would be appreciated. Thanks!
cuonxc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 08:30 AM   #2
Alpine1

One of my hiking companions is an English Springer. He has climbed almost every 46er mountain along with many many others in the Adirondacks. He has no problems. My GF has a miniature Australian Shepard and he so far has had little issue in the High Peaks. If he's(?) athletic than you should have no issues with the length of journey. Steep rock and cliffy areas do give timid dogs troubles sometimes.
Alpine1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 12:06 PM   #3
Pumpkin QAAD
Whachu talking about