Adirondack Forum  
Rules Membership Donations and Online Store Adkhighpeaks Foundation ADKhighpeaks Forums ADKhighpeaks Wiki Disclaimer

Go Back   Adirondack Forum > General Forum Related Topics > "By the Fireside"
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-18-2014, 06:41 AM   #1
MaximusFunk24

cedar carving question

I am new to wood carving, but am trying to make some custom handles for various knives and tools I have. I have had difficulty finding specific answers in my research. I thought since there are a lot of craftsman on the forum maybe someone would be able to advise me.

I am using red cedar, and I would like to get that striking red and white marbled look. Does this appear naturally through the darker and lighter seasonal growth rings, or is that marbling a result of cutting on the edge of where the heartwood meets the sapwood?

The log i am using is about 7 inches in diameter, and looks as though it has been down for only a few months if that makes a difference in coloring.
MaximusFunk24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 09:52 PM   #2
stripperguy
Hangin' by a thread

Mr Funk,
I'm in the middle of a canoe build using western red cedar...many of the planks that I started with had a graduated color from red or pink to near white. It's the sapwood vs the heartwood. Not sure why some are pink and some are brown. I know cherry gets darker with age, maybe cedar does the same thing.
Old 02-19-2014, 10:57 PM   #3
Zach
Last seen wandering vaguely

Spalting may be what you are looking for, it is caused by bacteria or fungus in dead wood and makes black and/or white spots and lines in the wood. Basically the early stages of decay. There are various types of spalting, I guess they are caused by different bacteria or fungi but I don't know. It can be very pretty but if it goes too far the wood is too punky to use for much.
Zach
Zach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 06:15 AM   #4
MaximusFunk24