Hunting in the Adirondacks with a scout rifle

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hunting in the Adirondacks with a scout rifle

Does anyone have experience using a scout type rifle for tracking/hunting deer in the Adirondacks. I am just getting started hunting up north, and have already heard many of the arguments related to using the Remington pump, various lever actions and bolt rifles. I was looking at the Savage Scout 110, and it looks like a light, easy to carry and quick to point rifle. I am interested in hearing from people who have actually used one of these scout rifles. Thanks.

I'm a lever gun guy, and not a big fan of bolt-actions (or scopes) for any fast shooting situation, but some guys have no issues with it, including the legendary Jim Massett. If you're comfortable with it, and think you can make quick follow-up shots if needed, that's all that matters. And the .308 is a good big woods deer caliber. But I still say make the first shot count.
    Life's short, hunt hard!

Comment

When I slow walk up home I always carry my 30-30 model 94. Open sites, I plan for one close shot or none.
      The rest of the time when I hunt with a rifle I carry a Savage 30-06. I can rack a second shell in quickly if necessary. It's never part of the plan though. One and done.

Comment